cart Shopping Cart    You have 0 items   
Want to become a member?
Sign up here!
a to z allergies
food allergy link
samster's triad
Allergy Specialists
food recalls small

Avoiding wheat

Avoid foods that contain wheat or any of these ingredients:

• Bakers flour
• bran
• bulgar (bulgur)
• cereal — filler, protein, extract, solids, starch, binders
• couscous
• durum
• farina
• flours
• gluten
• kamut
• risone
• rusk
• seitan
• semolina
• spelt (dinkel)
• triticale
• wheat — bran, flour, germ, gluten, malt, sprouts
• wheaten cornflour
• wheatgrass
• whole wheat berries
Note: Always read labels as wheat may appear in foods not listed here.


Wheat protein may be present in the following:

• Baking powder
• baked goods (e.g. breads, biscuits, crackers, cakes, pastry etc)
• batter
• confectionery
• cereals
• muesli
• croutons
• breadcrumbs
• dessert mixes
• flavourings
• glucose syrup
• icing sugar
• textured or hydrolysed protein (TVP, HVP)
• liquorice
• maltodextrin
• marshmallows
• noodles
• pasta
• soy sauce/shoyu
• spices
• starch — edible, gelatinised, modified, vegetable, wheat
• stuffing
• surimi
• tinned and processed foods